Screen Artists Co-op
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
chris.evans

Applying the method Empty Applying the method

Sun Jul 26, 2020 7:49 pm
This past class has really helped to solidify some of my understandings of how to apply the method. Tanya worked on streaming a character from her dream and then we took notes from her stream. Once the stream ended we broke up into groups and worked to get a sense of the character and where she fits in within the confines of a genre. This is something I have very little experience with applying the method to a work.

For my note taking I broke everything down into two categories: 1.) the character: physical, sound, smell, feel, taste or 2.)objects and environment. I kept these notes separated so that I could easily jump back and forth when searching for details that could connect to one another. There were a lot of notes from her stream.

There were two different groups that were working with the same info. It seems that our group focused more on the character fitting within the genre, while the other group worked to figure out what makes the character tick. There were aspects of both in each group, but the focus was different and that is very interesting given that we both had the same information and goal of building a character.